Home News Church Aftermath of Lagos State PFN Election: Archbishop Osa Oni, Southwest Nat. VP...

Aftermath of Lagos State PFN Election: Archbishop Osa Oni, Southwest Nat. VP Resigns


Aftermath of Lagos State PFN Election: Archbishop Osa Oni, Southwest Nat. VP Resigns

Uneasy calm reigns among the leadership and members of Lagos State Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria (PFN) after it was reported that Pastor Yemi Davids have been elected as the State Chairman of the body during an election conducted and supervised by a committee appointed by the PFN National President, Bishop Francis Wale Oke. Pastor Yemi Davids was reportedly the choice and preferred candidate of the national leadership against the genarally accepted annulled election of Rev. Toyin Kehinde.

Bishop Francis Wale Oke, PFN National President

The election was conducted by a 3 man committee headed by Akwa Ibom based PFN National Publicity Secretary, Bishop Emma Isong after the last annulled election that produced Rev. Toyin Kehinde as Lagos PFN chairman have widely received knocks and uneasiness among members of the body in Lagos State with majority questioning the outcome of the election that produces Pastor Yemi Davids and described it as a preplanned and stage managed anointed candidate by national leaders of the body.

Some highly placed members of Lagos PFN who spoke on the conditions of anonymity on the brewing election issues raised some yet to be answered questions on the eligibility of the committee that conducted the election, the rationale behind the unpopular election and general acceptance of the newly elected chairman, Pastor Yemi Davids.

Archbishop John Osa-Oni, resigned as PFN Nat. VP Southwest Zone

The confirmed sudden resignation of the National Vice President, Southwest Zone of PFN, Archbishop John Osa-Oni has laid credence to the suspicion of widen division and uneasy animosity among the leaders and members of the body in Lagos State.

Archbishop John Osa-Oni in his resignation letter gave personal reasons for his decision, stating that it was unconnected with the outcome of the fresh election and how he was ignorable sidelined to oversee an election conducted in his zone as the Southwest national vice chairman by Bishop Wale Oke led national exco.

Rev. Toyin Kehinde, acclaimed winner of the annulled Lagos State PFN election

It was reported that 3 members of the committee that conducted the Lagos State election are drawn from the South South (Bishop Emma Isong) and North Central (Bishop Bakare) with the PFN national president Chief of Staff (Ogun State) as the committee secretary. 

The result of the purported election witnessed by some members of Lagos State Advisory Council (SAC) and awaiting the national exco ratification with official announcement of the national president are, Pastor Yemi Davids (10 votes), Pastor Esosa Ize-Iyamu (8 votes) and Rev Yomi Kasali (7 votes) while other officers elected unopposed with Pastor Yemi Davids are Rev. (Mrs.) Janet Onaolapo as Deputy Chairman, Rev. Udo of the Foursquare Gospel Church as the secretary and Pastor Sola Osunmakinde as Treasurer.

It was learnt Rev. Toyin Kehinde, who had earlier won the first election but his well accepted and celebrated victory was annulled, boycotted the fresh election.

Pastor Yemi Davids, newly elected chairman, Lagos State PFN

A reliable source said, ”the resignation of the national Vice President, Southwest Zone speaks volumes as the best option over denigration and sidelining of his office as a respected Southwest pentecostal leader. 

“The election can be described as confirmation of a stage-managed appointment and coronation of new state exco by some top leaders in PFN for reasons best known to them. There had been silent complaints and bickering among Lagos members over the national exco interference and lording over the affairs of Lagos PFN. People are not happy with the predetermined election that favoured Pastor Yemi Davids. The national vice chairman took the right decision and followed an honourable part to resign”, the source said.